Who do you think is the best van driver in the UK?

The FTA Van Excellence Driver of the Year competition is back for a second time and open for entries – so accredited operators can nominate their best driver for the award.

The winner of the inaugural award was Cameron Weir from Iron Mountain; in second place was Tony Finnerty of Amey; and third place was awarded to Matt Kitchin, a driver for National Grid.

Sponsored by Leaseplan, the competition is to be held on Thursday 16 July at Mercedes -Benz, Wentworth Park, Barnsley. The cost to enter is £50 per participant.

The winning driver will be awarded a £1,000 holiday voucher with an iPad mini and Red Letter Day for the 2nd and 3rd placed drivers.

The various tasks of the competition are designed to test the entrants’ abilities across a wide range of skills; drivers will tested through five separate tasks designed to demonstrate their overall ability behind the wheel.

Elements will examine driving skills (fuel economy and driver behaviour), manoeuvring ability, the drivers’ risk awareness, checked legislative knowledge, and ability to identify pre-use defects of the vehicle.

Contestants will be scored on each element of the competition and ranked based on their scores.

Mark Cartwight, FTA’s head of vans, said: “FTA is delighted to announce that the second Van Excellence Driver of the Year competition. This event offers a fantastic opportunity for van drivers to demonstrate the work they do within this vital sector of UK logistics, and enables them to gain the recognition they deserve for their skill and the importance of the job they do.”

Excellence Industry Partners ATS Euromaster, Bott Ltd, BT Fleet, Hertz Van Rental, Lex Autolease and TomTom Telematics.